Poor Clare Colettine Nuns of Rockford, Illinois | Monastery
15362
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-15362,page-parent,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,transparent_content,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-13.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-7.5,vc_responsive

Our History

Discover our history, from Sts. Francis and Clare in the 13th century to St. Colette hundreds of years later. Our Monastery was founded in 1916 at the invitation of the first bishop of Rockford, Bishop Muldoon, who asked a small band of Sisters from Cleveland, Ohio, the first Poor Clare Monastery in the New World, which traces it’s origin back to Düsseldorf, Germany, to be the pioneering group.

Our Monastery

The present site of the monastery on South Main Street on the Rock River was just south of the city when our founding Sisters moved to this property in 1920.  As the city limits expanded, houses and city life began developing around the monastery. Although the monastery is no longer in the country, the spacious grounds have always provided a secluded atmosphere within the enclosure walls.

Our Chapel

Ground was broken on September 8, 1924. On November 9th, Bishop Muldoon officiated at the Laying of the Cornerstone Ceremony. The chapel was consecrated on July 26th, 1925 by Bishop Muldoon. Reverend Edward Walsh, C.S.S.R., brother of one of the founding Sisters, came from Canada to preach the sermon. Discover its serene beauty.

Pray With Us

Although the Poor Clares of Corpus Christi Monastery are cloistered, there are many opportunities to unite oneself to their way of life and prayer. Below you can their daily schedule. The public are also invited to join the community for daily Mass and other devotions, such as Friday adoration and Benediction.